Diamond classification



Κατάταξη διαμαντιών

Our materials are of high quality; our stones come from guaranteed sources, are examined at our atelier by gemologists and are certified accordingly.


1. Carat Weight
2. Clarity
3. Color
4. Cut
The quality of a cut diamond is assessed by the 4Cs method.

Carat Weight
Diamonds must always be weighed on precise scales. The unit of measuring the weight of a diamond is the carat (ct), which is defined as 200 milligrams.
The carat (ct) must not be confused with the karat of gold jewellery, which defines the pure gold content.
For the precise measurement of the weight of a diamond, the jeweler must refer to two decimals, for example 0,28ct. 

The clarity of a stone is defined by its internal characteristics called ‘inclusions’ and its external characteristics called ‘blemishes’. Some typical examples are crystals, chips, or breaks. Diamonds are the only stones whose price, transparency and mechanical strength changes dramatically with the slightest change of their clarity. Examining a diamond requires x10 magnification under a microscope. 

F1 – Flawless
LF – Literally Flawless
VVS1 – Very very slightly included 1
VVS 2 – Very very slightly included 2
VS 1 – Very very slightly included 1
VS 2 – Very very slightly included 2
SI1 – Slightly included 1
I1 – Imperfect 1
I2 – Imperfect 2
I3 – Imperfect 3

The division into 1, 2, 3 in the categories VVS, VS, SI and I does not apply for stones smaller than 0,25ct.

The diamond is an allochromatic stone and, at its pure form, it is completely colorless, which is extremely rare in nature. Diamonds usually have a slight yellow, brown or sometimes grey tint. In extremely rare cases we can find pink, orange, red, crimson, violet, black, or green hues.


Diamonds are color-graded according to the D-Z Color Grading Scale. In this scale, only diamonds in yellow, brown and grey colour are graded.

We value how closely diamonds approach colourlessness: the less their colour, the higher their value.

The letter D represents diamonds which are completely colourless. As we go down the colour scale, the colour tint is more noticeable

The most common cut of a diamond is round brilliant. Apart from this, there is the Fancy shape which is mainly oval brilliant, marquise brilliant and emerald cut. When we examine the quality of the cut of a diamond, we take into consideration the proportions, e.g. the angles to which it is cut, polish and symmetry of the stone. All these components categorize the diamond into four grades: Excellent, Very Good, Good και Fair.